Space travel is here


Lunar Reconnaissance Orbiter

Lunar Reconnassance Orbiter

I know you don’t believe me, but space travel is here. Last night, I spent some time out under the stars, thinking about the Milky Way (which we rarely see where I live).

And then PLUNK. I was in it. I was in a conical orbiter sipping, well, diet pepsi, although my peeps were drinking red wine. It was a special voyage, one that included my best friend, her boyfriend, and some other close friends. Our passenger area was a kind of seating in the round kind of thing. My best friend’s boyfriend had arranged for some wine and other goodies, and we were toasting them. And watching the stars. They were so bright. You couldn’t make out any particular constellation, because our position was so far up. So far into it all.

It was as roomy as a designer living room, with plenty of windows onto the stars. I think we’d taken a spin around the moon, but I can’t be sure.

It seemed that before we knew it, it was time to gather our things and “deplane.”

I’d done this before, but my peeps had not. The orbiter sailed into the Chesapeake Bay and into a whirling vortex of water … it was a hush hush kind of thing. No one knows about this! But the orbiter actually lands near the Naval Academy , is sucked into an underground installation, and then pops up in a narrow canal, bobbling toward our destination like a rubber ducky in a carnival moat. I watched, and even the Middies didn’t notice anything out of the ordinary as they walked by. We drifted for a moment after splashdown, then ended up somewhere near the Cathedral.

I asked the captain how long the voyage had been, because with the quick change of stars and venue, we couldn’t really tell the hour.

“An hour and a half,” he said. “But some say it was an hour and 10 minutes with the tailwind.” I think he was joking.

He told me that presidents and other statespeople had made this same trip.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Cheryl Johnson
    Aug 20, 2011 @ 17:21:39

    Are you sure you were only drinking pepsi? Really though nice piece – your description of events had me feeling like I was there.

    Reply

  2. Susan
    Aug 20, 2011 @ 17:23:04

    I seem to be putting a lot of attention on outer space recently!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

