A good school dream


Resonance structures of benzene.

Resonance structures of benzene

Instead of the usual find-myself-back-in-college-but-forgot-to-go-to-classes scenario, last night I dreamed I had been brought in to a school for a special week. During that week, I was put with a small team who had been selected just like myself for some kind of science education.

We went to classes, we did experiments, we wrote papers. As a group, we were very tight. In our “free” time we even went shopping together.

It was a good feeling. I recalled how I wanted to major in chemistry in college, but had been put off by organic chemistry, especially benzine rings. Now was my chance. I was 55 and raring to go. All of my interactions with teachers and students were incredibly positive.

At the end of the week, they asked me and my team to fly to Cleveland the next week. After that, they wanted us to attend four years of school, and they would pay us (not much, but enough) to do so. It was a little unclear what kind of science I would study, but right then it didn’t matter. I would be a doctor! I had a shot at a new career!

My teachers couldn’t have been more complimentary or supportive.

I said yes, even though it meant calling a client after 5 pm on a Friday and telling him that I wouldn’t be able to fly to New England the next week for some kind of writing project.

I flew to Cleveland with my buddies and they put us up in an odd room together. It was kind of sweet — brick walls and plenty of room, even though we’d all be bunking together in four different beds.

We spent the rest of the evening getting organized for the next day, because we knew we wouldn’t have a minute to do anything else.

This was very satisfying, after my years of (dreaming-wise) showing up in classes without having registered. Sometimes with few or no clothes. Often regretting that I had decided to pursue an English degree for the second time.

I would finally get a degree that meant something. 🙂

Enhanced by Zemanta
2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Cheryl Johnson
    Jul 05, 2010 @ 19:12:38

    Susan, your writing always takes me to another place like I am watching a play on the stage. For a few minutes, it was nice to get away from my cares of the day. Thank you.

    Reply

  2. Susan
    Jul 05, 2010 @ 20:47:29

    You’re a sweetie pie. Thanks for stopping by!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

